Countries that accept an EHIC

A European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) lets you get healthcare for free or at a reduced cost in the EU, the EEA and Switzerland.

The EU countries are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The EEA countries are:

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Page last reviewed: 27 July 2022
Next review due: 27 July 2025