Warning notification:Warning

Unfortunately, you are using an outdated browser. Please, upgrade your browser to improve your experience with HSE. The list of supported browsers:

  1. Chrome
  2. Edge
  3. FireFox
  4. Opera
  5. Safari


There are 3 different types of cytomegalovirus (CMV) infection:

  • primary CMV infection - when you develop CMV for the first time
  • CMV reactivation - when a previous infection becomes active again
  • CMV reinfection - when you are infected with a different strain of the CMV virus

Symptoms of cytomegalovirus (CMV) in pregnancy

Preventing cytomegalovirus (CMV) in pregnancy

Congenital CMV in unborn or newborn babies

Congenital CMV is a primary CMV infection in an unborn baby that develops when you are pregnant. It infects your unborn or newborn baby. All 3 types of CMV infection in pregnancy can lead to a congenital infection.

Page last reviewed: 21 August 2019
Next review due: 21 August 2022

This project has received funding from the Government of Ireland’s Sláintecare Integration Fund 2019 under Grant Agreement Number 123.