Your child’s developmental milestones

Your child’s first 5 years will see huge changes in their development. As they grow, their skills develop.

These include:

  • gross motor – using large muscles that coordinate body movements such as standing, sitting upright and walking
  • fine motor skills – using small muscles for accurate coordinated movements such as holding a toy and drawing with a crayon
  • communication and hearing
  • social and emotional
  • problem-solving, learning and understanding

The ages given for milestones in this guide are an average. Every child is different. Most children should be meeting these milestones.

These guidelines have been developed by Prof Farhana Sharif, a paediatrician (a doctor who specialises in child health).


Talk to your GP or public health nurse if you are concerned about your child’s development. They may refer carry out further screening or refer your child to a specialist

Page last reviewed: 3 December 2018
Next review due: 3 December 2021